vote resulted in favour of the repeal, which became effective on Dec. 3, 1928¹. Part 3 of the Act relates to penalties and prosecutions, part 4 to the prohibition of the importation and exportation of intoxicating liquors into and from the provinces, while part 5 enacts provisions in aid of provincial legislation for the control of the liquor traffic. All the provinces except Quebec and British Columbia have carried plebiscites in favour of the prohibition of importation of liquors. Exportation is prohibited from the provinces of New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Manitoba, Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Section 8.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (formerly the Royal Northwest Mounted Police) are distributed throughout the Dominion, with headquarters at Ottawa. It is a Dominion constabulary, whose duties, owing to the fact that the Provinces are responsible for the enforcement of law and order, are somewhat different from those of most police forces. In addition, however, to its strictly federal duties, by an arrangement approved by Order in Council on April 14, 1928, and coming into effect on June 1, 1928, the Force has assumed the enforcement of law and order in Saskatchewan, outside of urban centres which maintain their own municipal forces. The arrangement, which is for a term of seven years from 1928, is substantially similar to that which obtained in the two provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan from their establishment in 1905 until 1917. As a result, there are now nearly 90 detachments in the province, with officers and other ranks to the number of nearly 300, exclusive of those in the depot.

The federal duties of the Force, as distinct from its provincial duties in Saskatchewan, fall under the following general headings:-(1) The enforcement of Dominion Statutes; (2) The enforcement of the Criminal Code in the Northwest Territories (including the Arctic), the Yukon, the national parks and Indian reserves, and also when Dominion Departments are the aggrieved parties; (3) the enforcement (by special agreement) of provincial laws, etc., in national parks in British Columbia and Alberta; (4) investigations for other departments; (5) Police assistance and protection rendered to Dominion Departments, provincial authorities, other police forces, etc., The fourth and fifth of these categories have increased greatly in recent years, from 8,500 cases in 1920 to 62,554 in 1929, and the assistance rendered is of the most varied kinds, including aid to the Customs in preventing smuggling, to Inland Revenue in suppressing illegal stills, to the Department of Health in combating the traffic in narcotic drugs, to the Secretary of State in verifying the statements made by applicants for naturalization, to the Post Office in detecting frauds upon and robberies of the mails, to the Department of Indian Affairs in protecting the Indians, etc. Aid is occasionally given to Provincial Governments in the maintenance of law and order.

The Arctic work is becoming increasingly important; there are now in the Arctic and sub-Arctic regions (exclusive of the Yukon) 33 detachments with 91 all ranks, or about 9 p.c. of the entire strength. These detachments include posts on Ellesmere, North Devon, Baffin and Victoria islands, as well as along the coasts of the Arctic ocean and Hudson bay; one (Bache Peninsula) is within eleven degrees

¹At a vote taken in the County of Compton, Que., on Apr. 28, 1930, the result was in favour of the revocation of Part 11 of the Act.